Nelson College Logo

Young Men Taking Their Place in the World

Welcome to Nelson College

Nelson College is an innovative boys’ school founded in 1856. The College takes pride in being New Zealand’s oldest state school with a rich heritage of tradition forming a backdrop to modern educational practice.

The College is situated in a picturesque setting, with excellent facilities for learning, sport, leisure and performing arts. Twenty two hectares of impressive grounds include playing fields, a pool, two gymnasiums, and tennis courts as well as a traditional Hall and modern performing arts facilities.

2018 Term Dates

Term 1 – Wednesday 31 January to Friday 13 April
Note: Preparatory School start Tuesday 30 January at 11am
Term 2 – Monday 30 April to Friday 6 July
Term 3 Monday 23 July to Friday 28 September
Term 4 – Monday 15 October to Thursday 13 December

2019 Term Dates

Term 1 – Start of the year

Preparatory School Monday 28 January at 11am
Nelson College students Tuesday 29 January
Nelson Anniversary holiday Monday 4 February
School closed Tuesday 5 February
Waitangi Day holiday Wednesday 6 February
End of term Friday 12 April

Term 2 – Monday 29 April to Friday 5 July
Term 3 – Monday 22 July to Friday 27 September
Term 4 – Monday 14 October to Wednesday 11 December

Calendar_Graphic

Latest News

  • Media Release – Why a single-sex education is best for boys

  • September 10, 2018
  • Nelson College Headmaster Gary O’Shea dons his black gown and walks on stage to address a sea of students. 1,100 curious faces stare back at him, from fresh-faced...
  • Winter Sports Tournament Nelson College Final Results

  • September 10, 2018
  • Congratulations to all the students who participated in winter tournament and many thanks to all who supported our players. 1st XI Football at Nationals in Christchurch...
  • Winter Tournament results – Wednesday

  • September 5, 2018
  • 1st XI Football at Nationals in Christchurch Beat Napier BHS            2-0 Beat Kings HS                 3-0 Drew Avondale               0-0 Into Top 16 Lost to St Pat...
  • Winter Tournament Tuesday 4 Sept

  • September 4, 2018
  • 1st XI Football at Nationals in Christchurch Beat Napier BHS               2-0 Beat Kings HS                    3-0 Avondale – 1:30 pm Tuesday 2nd XI Football at “B”...

Nelson College Galleries